Workplace

Adel Abidin, Emily Jacir, João Onofre, Superflex, Pilvi Takala, John Wood and Paul Harrison

Wed 9 Jan - Sat 9 Mar 2013

Workplace

From school to adulthood, we spend a huge amount of our lives in the workplace. In it, life-long friendships and romances are formed; it provides the arena in which power games and gender politics are played out at a macro and micro level; it is the setting for innovation and life-changing research as well as mind-numbing repetition and ennui.

This exhibition explores the workplace through contemporary art as a universal experience, one which cuts across political and geographical boundaries as well as distinctions between types of industry, including the production of art. Through film works selected from across the globe by leading contemporary artists, this exhibition explores the frustration and alienation of a contemporary workforce removed from the true seats of power, but also the often humorous strategies for survival and expressions of individualism that prevail.

BECOME PART OF THE ART
During Workplace, the Mead Gallery is encouraging visitors to use the gallery as their own workplace, to have working (and non-working) lunches in there and to make use of desks and meeting spaces that may be booked in advance for free. This is a unique opportunity to become part of the art and escape your own workplace for a while.

Use our online reservation system to book a desk or meeting space.The desk space can be booked for one or more 2 hour periods; the meeting space is bookable for one or more 4 hour periods. Click to book the Meeting Space or the Desk Space. Alternatively, call or visit the Mead Gallery in Warwick Arts Centre (Opening hours 12-9pm, Mon-Sat. T: 024 7652 2589). Before booking, please read the Meeting Space Guidelines, which can be downloaded by clicking on the icon to the right of the screen.

If you are planning to visit the exhibition with a school group, Teachers’ Resource Notes are available to help you plan your trip. To download these notes, please click on the icon to the right of the screen.

join our mailing list:

Dates & Times

Wed 9 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Thu 10 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Fri 11 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Sat 12 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Mon 14 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Tue 15 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Wed 16 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Thu 17 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Fri 18 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Sat 19 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Mon 21 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Tue 22 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Wed 23 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Thu 24 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Fri 25 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Sat 26 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Mon 28 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Tue 29 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Wed 30 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Thu 31 Jan Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Fri 1 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Sat 2 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Mon 4 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Tue 5 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Wed 6 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Thu 7 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Fri 8 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Sat 9 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Mon 11 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Tue 12 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Wed 13 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Thu 14 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Fri 15 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Sat 16 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Mon 18 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Tue 19 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Wed 20 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Thu 21 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Fri 22 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Sat 23 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Mon 25 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Tue 26 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Wed 27 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Thu 28 Feb Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Fri 1 Mar Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Sat 2 Mar Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Mon 4 Mar Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Tue 5 Mar Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Wed 6 Mar Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Thu 7 Mar Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Fri 8 Mar Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
Sat 9 Mar Mead Gallery 12:00pm Free
close

Select your performance